Russia launches Progress cargo ship to ISS

0

MOSCOW, Feb. 15 (Xinhua) — Russia’s unpiloted Progress MS-16 cargo freighter carrying supplies for the International Space Station (ISS) blasted off on a Soyuz-2.1a rocket on Monday, the Russian state space corporation Roscosmos said in a statement.

The rocket was launched at 7:45 a.m. Moscow time (0445 GMT) from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, Roscosmos said in a statement.

The spaceship is loaded with 600 kg of fuel, 420 liters of water, 40.5 kg of compressed gasses and 1,400 kg of various equipment and materials.

The spacecraft is set to reach the ISS in two days with docking scheduled for Feb. 17 at 9:20 a.m. Moscow time (0620 GMT).

It will dock with the Pirs module under the supervision of the Russian Mission Control Center and Russian ISS crew members Sergei Ryzhikov and Sergei Kud-Sverchkov. Enditem

Share.

Leave A Reply