Bishop Auckland election results 2019: Conservatives WIN historic Labour seat


THE historic Labour constituency of Bishop Auckland has been lost by Jeremy Corbyn’s party since 1934.

Conservative candidate Dehenna Davison grabbed 24,067 of the vote, compared to Labour’s Helen Goodman, who gathered just 16,105 votes. Conservatives were hoping to snatch Brexit-backing Bishop Auckland in County Durham from Labour. In 2017, the seat was clinched by Labour with just a 502 majority, seeing a 6.7 percent gain from the 2015 election.

Tories secured 46.9 percent of the vote, gaining an impressive 14.4 percent from the 2015 election.

Bishop Auckland voted to Leave in the 2016 EU Referendum, 60.89 percent against 39.11 percent who backed Remain, according to the Democratic Dashboard.

Labour’s Helen Goodman chose to run again in her previously held seat since 2010 against Brexit Party’s Nicholas Brown, Conservatives’ Dehanna Davison and Liberal Democrats’ Ray Georgeson.


About Author

Leave A Reply