Finnair increases flights in July amid easing travel restrictions


HELSINKI, July 9 (Xinhua) — Finnish national carrier Finnair announced on Thursday that it is set to increase its traffic in July, as the Finnish government decided to lift travel restrictions for a raft of countries in and outside Europe.

Finnair is increasing its traffic in July and serves more than 30 destinations in Europe and some Asian destinations, including Hong Kong, Tokyo, and Seoul. The Shanghai route is still subject to government approvals, said the airline in a press release on Thursday.

In July, the number of the daily one-way flights to domestic, European and Asian destinations will increase up to 80. Finnair said that it has the capability to increase flights rapidly, when travel restrictions are removed and demand recovers.

“Changes in travel restrictions are quickly reflected in the bookings of our flights and we can clearly see that people have a need and desire to travel,” said Ole Orver, chief commercial officer of Finnair, adding that Finnair is looking forward to the next round of new openings and the possibilities brought to its network and customers.

More destinations and frequencies will be expected towards the autumn. Passengers are allowed to change their travel dates of bookings made between April 1 and Aug. 31, according to Finnair.

In addition, the airline has introduced several measures to protect the health of customers and cabin crew during a flight, including intensifying aircraft cleaning, mandatory use of face masks onboard, and distributing to passengers a “Clean Kit” containing hand sanitizer and surface wipes.

On Wednesday, Finland announced to lift all travel restrictions for 17 European countries and allow work-related travel and other essential trips to several countries on other continents, starting July 13.

Finnish Interior Minister Maria Ohisalo said that in the Asia-Pacific area, work-related and other essential travels will be allowed to and from China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Thailand and South Korea. Finland will also allow the same type of travel to and from Georgia and several countries in Africa and South America.

As of July 13, Finland will also lift all border controls travelers from Austria, Belgium, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Malta, the Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland. Finland will also lift all travel restrictions with Cyprus, Ireland, Andorra, San Marino and the State of Vatican City. Enditem


About Author

Leave A Reply