Australia’s Ashes squad 2021-22: The full 15-man squad that will face England in the first and second Tests this winter.


Full Australia Ashes squad 2021-22: The 15-man squad that will face England in the first and second Tests this winter.

Usman Khawaja has been recalled after a two-year absence and will compete with Travis Head for a spot in the middle order.

Usman Khawaja has been recalled to Australia’s 15-man squad for the Ashes series against England in 2021-22.

The 34-year-old left-hander hasn’t played Test cricket since being dropped during the 2019 Ashes series, but he’s been in good form for Queensland in domestic cricket and could compete with Travis Head for the middle-order batting spot left vacant by Matthew Wade.

Marcus Harris is expected to continue as David Warner’s opening partner, with Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith at Nos 3 and 4, respectively.

Due to concussion symptoms, starting batter Will Pucovski was unable to play.

Jhye Richardson and uncapped Michael Neser will support the pace trio of Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc, while leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson and veteran off-spinner Nathan Lyon have been included.

Mitch Marsh, who led Australia to an eight-wicket victory over New Zealand in the T20 World Cup final in Dubai, was left out of the Test squad as an all-rounder, with selectors preferring Cameron Green.

Marsh, on the other hand, has been named to an A squad, giving him the opportunity to demonstrate his worth, with selectors stating that the squad will be reviewed following the second Test.

The Ashes series will begin on December 8 at the Gabba, where Khawaja grew up.

From 1-3 December, Australia will hold an internal trial at a different Brisbane venue, allowing members of the victorious Twenty20 World Cup squad to undergo a 14-day quarantine under Covid-19 pandemic protocols.

Khawaja, who has a 43.44 average in six Ashes tests on home soil, admitted that selection wasn’t entirely “clear cut” at this point.

All times are in GMT.

Men’s Ashes (Men’s Ashes):

“Marcus Harris is most likely the starting quarterback.

“Most likely a chance [for me]in the middle order,” he said.

“Obviously, whether or not I play is determined by the selection committee’s decision.

“I don’t have anything to prove to anyone.”

I know I won’t be able to play cricket indefinitely, so I’m relishing every opportunity to do so.

“I’m not going to change my mind.”

Reuters contributed to this story.

Australia’s Ashes squad 2021-22: The full 15-man squad that will face England in the first and second Tests this winter.

Australia Ashes squad 2021-22 in full: The 15-man line-up to face England in 1st and 2nd Tests this winter

Australia Ashes squad 2021-22

  • David Warner
  • Marcus Harris
  • Marnus Labuschagne
  • Steve Smith
  • Travis Head
  • Usman Khawaja
  • Cameron Green
  • Tim Paine
  • Pat Cummins
  • Mitchell Starc
  • Josh Hazlewood
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Jhye Richardson
  • Michael Neser
  • Mitchell Swepson

Australia A squad

  • Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Nic Maddinson, Mitch Marsh, Matthew Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Bryce Street

Ashes dates in full

All times GMT

Men’s Ashes:

  • First Test: 8-12 December – Gabba, Brisbane, play starts 12am
  • Second Test: 16-20 December – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide, play starts 4am
  • Third Test: 26-30 December – MCG, Melbourne, play starts 11.30pm on 25 December
  • Fourth Test: 5-9 January – SCG, Sydney, play starts 11.30pm on 4 January
  • Fifth Test: 14-18 January – Optus Stadium, Perth, play starts 2.30am

Read More - Featured ImageRead More - Featured ImageRead More - Featured Image

Comments are closed.